Board of Directors

A charitable nonprofit organization, our YMCA is governed by board of volunteer leaders. The Board of Directors provides oversight of our programs and operations. Comprising respected civic leaders, business owners and industry executives, clergy and philanthropists, our board members dedicate many hours of service each year to our Y to the betterment of our community. Terms of service vary, but many of our Board Members serve our Y for decades, in a variety of capacities.


Jonathan Manela – President


Kristin McKinney – 1st Vice President


Juliane Sunderland – 2nd Vice President


Kathryn Gussen – Treasurer

Katie grew up in Fairfield. She graduated from Fairfield University before moving to Chicago to attend law school at Northwestern. She earned her post doctorate LL.M. in Manhattan, where she practiced large scale corporate law before joining Morgan Stanley in 2009.

Over the past few years, Katie has focused some of her energy on more philanthropic pursuits. She and her family live in Fairfield, where she served as Chair of the Board of Assessment Appeals. She works closely with the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, where she chairs an annual fundraiser each spring. Additionally, she volunteers with Merton House and St. Thomas Aquinas Parish in town.

She has been a long-time member of the Westport/Weston YMCA. She grew up as a member of the Water Rats swim team. She has two sisters who also live in Fairfield with their families and, among them, they have 5 children, all of whom were involved with multiple programs and activities at the Y.


Libby McKinney Tritschler – Secretary


James Adams


Jenn Bagnato


Diane Benke

As a lifelong swimmer, joining the YMCA was one of the first things I did when my family moved to town. It’s been an invaluable resource for our family ever since! Both of my children learned to swim at the YMCA, taking lessons and attending Hafaday swim camp. Our children have also benefited from various YMCA programs such as basketball clinics and Camp Mahackeno.

At the YMCA, I’ve found a second family in the SwimFit group and Triathlon Club. Not only do they both provide high quality, coached workouts, but they’ve also fostered wonderful friendships. We encouraged one another to improvise and continue working out through the pandemic. The YMCA community transcends the physical building and great facilities. I’ve competed in triathlons (proudly wearing our YMCA uniforms) and swimrun events with my teammates and friends.

As an active member, you can often find me in the pool. I serve on the board to give back to an organization that has given me so much. My personal mission is to share my passion for the Westport Weston Family YMCA by spreading inspiring stories of the positive impact this organization has had on the health and wellness of its members. I also leverage my marketing and management consulting experience to encourage continued innovation and growth to ensure that the invaluable services the YMCA provides will exist for future generations.


Bryan Carey


Alec Foege


John Greenspan


Richard Hyman


Johanna Kiev


Mike Maloney


Dana McCreesh

I first fell in love with the Westport YMCA 15 years ago. My eldest daughter joined the Water Rat swim team and just like that, we had a new home. A new home in an old building, as she started off in the “warm pool” in the old downtown Y. We would enter through the back door to the smell of chlorine, a smell I still associate with my kids youth. Our Y time evolved as more family members began swimming, doing gymnastics and even shaving their heads at the Y, and we moved to the new building. Yet the essence of the Y remained the same – a dedication to youth development, health and social responsibility. Sixteen years ago, my family created TeamBrent, in order to fight childhood cancer alongside my now 19 year old son. TeamBrent and the Y are mission-aligned (youth development, health and social responsibility), and together we have hosted multiple events at the Y, from head shavings to family obstacle courses, raising funds and awareness to fight childhood cancer. I serve on the BOD because the Y is important to me, I love our community and together we make a difference.


Peter Masanotti


Anjali McCormick – CEO


John McKinney – President, Board of Trustees


Andy McNab


Ngassam Ngnoumen

The Y has been with us as we raised three daughters. We started with swim lessons for our 18 month old twins and never left. Through sports, camp, competitive swimming, fundraising, volunteering, and community & family events; our daughters have built meaningful relationships supporting themselves and others. Across and outside the US, the Y has been a place that welcomed and modeled inclusive leadership for our Girls, now heading to high school. Our Westport Y has touched many lives in its almost 100 years of existence.

The Water Rats swim team has been another home for our daughters since grade school. It has been meaningful to be part of our Y’s journey starting in 2015 and to bring an innovations background to support our board’s commitment to better serve our youth, families, and our community – and be here for the next 100 years!


Tobias Reiss-Schmidt


Christina Sherwin


T. George Vatis


Cathy Walker

When I relocated to Westport five years ago, I worked with a real estate agent who could not stop gushing about how incredible the Westport Weston Family YMCA was. She was not kidding! And then I found out the YMCA had plans to more than double its building and completely modernize all the facilities across its acres and acres of outdoor space.

Once we moved to Westport, we became one of those families that was at the Y almost every day: both of my children were enrolled in the Y’s afterschool program, my daughter competed for the Water WRAT Swim Team as well as the Westport Weston Family YMCA Dance Center, and my husband, Colin Walker, swims with the YMCA’s Masters Swim Group. Our kids also attended Camp Mahackeno. I joined the YMCA board to give back to this special organization that has done so much for my family and our town. It is a modern, inclusive, and diverse organization that brings joy to its members and gives generously to its neighbors near and far.

My professional focus is working for consumer companies (many health and wellness focused) backed by private equity firms. I build out their executive teams and help them stay competitive in this ever-changing consumer world. The YMCA Board of Directors was committed to staying at the forefront of wellness trends and making sure that this special organizations served every member of our community. I knew I wanted to be part of this special team and support our mission to make the our Y relevant for future generations.


Barbara Wiederecht


Trustees Emeriti
Paul Becker (deceased)
Ruth T. Bedford (deceased)
George H. Damman
William L. Gault
Lester R. Giegerich (deceased)
Mrs. Lucie C. McKinney (deceased)
William E. Mitchell
Allen A. Raymond (deceased)
Mark A. Smith (deceased)